Say you sell widgets. Last month total sales were $25,000 and you had 125 orders. $25,000 divided by 125 = $200, so your Average Order Value was $200.
By diving deep into your store’s Average Order Value, you can learn valuable information, including if should re-evaluate your cross-selling, up-selling and loyalty programs. Keep in mind the same customer could have multiple orders. AOV determines sales per order, not sales per customer.